yodaWhy is it so hard to write the first word? Is it because the mind fights itself even to the very moment of putting the words down? Maybe it’s me. I am  a novice trying to come up with a workable writing schedule. Perhaps my writing constipation will work itself out when I start writing on a regular basis. No pun intended.

I’m dissecting Stephen King’s Misery to learn how a story is put together. Focusing on how a story flows, character developments and scene structures will help better my storytelling. It’s an experiment. So far I’m learning a great deal. And what better way to become a better writer than to learn from the masters. I am currently on chapter 12 of  Stephen King’s Misery and I have to say this process is showing interesting results thus far. The chapters in this novel are very small (so far), about 500 word count, which in my opinion is great for a fast pace thriller. He avoided what I call “flowering a scene” where everything  is described to great detail and provides way too much information. He kept it simple, only mentioning what was important to the story. I also noticed that a scene can take several chapters, unlike my my last novel where I wrote a scene per chapter. I pondered how deep in a scene I can go if I take my time  and tell the whole story. Give it life and make it real.

I’ve decided to write a short story before starting a new novel. It has been years since I’ve written one and I look forward getting started. I have several ideas and will pick one soon. As eager as I am, I still dread writing that first word. Maybe it will come to me in the middle of the night as I dream about my alternate life.

“Dying men rarely scream. They haven’t the energy. I know.” -Anne Wilkes

King, Stephen (1988-06-03). Misery

Shanna

2 thoughts on “Teach Me Master

  1. Have you read King’s “On Writing”? It’s part memoir, part writing workshop. I’ve read it several times; it’s very accessible and helps inspire me when I get stuck.

    1. Yes I have that book. It is a great read for writing. It is one of my favorite. I think I may reread it. It has great honest advice. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

